Interior Design (aka A Journey into the Abyss)

3 Mar

I’ve been thinking that I should use this blog as something more than what it’s been. This shouldn’t be too hard, since it hasn’t been much of anything.

What I’ve decided to try and do is document more of my writing/publishing process. This will be less for the enjoyment of you readers (since it will probably be boring), and more about me documenting my writerly struggles, so that my family will know that I don’t just watch funny kitten videos all day. (which I don’t do, because I’m a dog person)

Some of these blog entries will be more interesting than others. At the moment, I’m not building any worlds or having fun with characters. Today, I’m trying to format the print edition of my new book, Freedom/Hate.

(the Kindle version of Freedom/Hate will be released on April 19! Pre-order your copy today by clicking on this link!)

Trying to format the print edition of a book is like trying to decorate a house. There are a hundred tiny decisions that must be made. What font do you use for the main body of the novel? What font do you use for the headers? What font do you use for the inside title page, when you first open the book, but before the cover page, which comes before the story begins? How big do you want the copyright text?

Have I mentioned that I hate decorating houses?

Once you get the colors on the walls… sorry, I mean the fonts on the page, you still have to organize the furniture. In this case, that means laying out the front content of the book. The title page, the cover page, the acknowledgments, the copyright page… There is no one way to do it. And even if there was one super official way of getting it done, I wouldn’t have to color within those lines, because I’m not a part of the literary establishment. I’m a rebel, and that means that I could put a dedication page between chapters of the book, if I wanted to. Which I don’t. Because that would be stupid… unless I dedicated a specific chapter to someone because they inspired it.

(Has anyone done that before? If so, leave a comment and let me know. It sounds like something that someone could do, even though it still also sounds stupid)

Formatting a book can be hellish. I have to print up a ton of sample pages, to see what it will look like on paper. I have to ask myself if the cover for the physical book should be the same as the cover for the digital book (Strange Fall had different designs, because… naked guy).

But at the end of the day, I will get to hold that book in my hand. The first time I get to do that with a book is pretty amazing. It will be 450 pages (or 415… or 425… it depends on the font!) of words that I wrote out, one by one. Physical evidence of the fact that I make up worlds and hear people who exist only in my head.

Strike that last part. Sounds crazy.

It will be three years of hard work, finally turning into something real that I can hold in my hands. Women only have to carry a baby for nine months, and they rarely get negative reviews on Amazon because of it. This is way harder.

Strike that last part. It will get me murdered.

2 Responses to “Interior Design (aka A Journey into the Abyss)”

  1. Paul Duffau March 4, 2016 at 9:50 am #

    Probably going to be more interesting than you realize, Kyle. Looking forward to it.

    • authorkyleandrews March 4, 2016 at 12:18 pm #

      I hope so. I’m just going to have fun with it and see what happens!

Leave a Reply

