Starlette : Chapter Seven, “The Crime Scene” Now Available! Plus, Starlette Reviewed by Big Hollywood!

5 Oct

Chapter Seven, “The Crime Scene” is available now on Kindle and Nook! Be sure to check it out! It’s sure to be a memorable chapter.

Amazon


Barnes and Noble

And in case you missed the link on my website, the tweets, the Facebook posts and that sound of me yelling it from the rooftops, Starlette was recently reviewed over at Big Hollywood! Click Here to see what my new favorite blogger, Meira Pentermann had to say about the series!

2 Responses to “Starlette : Chapter Seven, “The Crime Scene” Now Available! Plus, Starlette Reviewed by Big Hollywood!”

  1. Yahoo Garfunkel October 15, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Greetings! I read about your novel on Big Hollywood and decided to give it a try by downloading the first four chapters. I found the first few chapters immensely enjoyable. Loved the slaps at Hollywood culture, the clever and ironic use of Hollywood jargon and plot cliches as integral to the narrative. Terrific!

    Unfortunately, after the second chapter, your theme seems to wander and by the forth it seemed to me that it had run off the tracks. The giant action scene in the fourth chapter may have looked good with SFX in your imagination, but it was pretty long winded when reading it and didn’t particularly move the plot along – worst of all there was nothing really surprising or clever about it.

    By the end of the fourth chapter, the self absorbed idiotic “stars” are now a highly competent fighting team that slashes through the hapless minions of the Bookworm without casualties – even when walking into a trap. So book over, right? Where’s the threat? Besides, this is supposed to be a dark comedy, right? (or is it?) The promise of the first chapter was that I was going to read about Hollywood fools thrashing about in the real world – and paying dearly for it. Since that doesn’t seem to be the case now – game over.

    If you really are writing this a chapter at a time, then the fault probably lies with not having time to edit and revise enough. An occupational hazard with a serial web novel.

    Anyway, best of luck in the future – loved the concept as long as it lasted.

    • authorkyleandrews October 16, 2011 at 4:43 am #

      Thank you for your comments. I appreciate any and all feedback on my work, and I thank you very much for taking the time to not only sample my work, but to post your thoughts.

      I would like to clarify one point, since it has been an issue that I’ve spoken out against in the past. This series is complete. I finished writing it before I released the first chapter, and it is a story that I have developed over the course of several years (though the translation to this particular format is recent).
      I know that the history of serial novels is filled with writers who didn’t really know where their stories were going, and wrote them as they were released. I don’t want to speak ill of other writers, but this was not my process. The story for the entire series was carefully crafted before I wrote the first chapter, and all thirteen chapters were written before I released the first to the public.

      Again, thank you for your comments.

Leave a Reply

